Like many other states, Florida auto insurance laws are comprehensive and carry penalties for non-compliance. But each state’s insurance laws for autos vary, so knowledge of what’s included in Florida auto insurance laws is important if you drive in the state.
Mandatory Insurance – All registered vehicles in the state of Florida must be insured. If you live in the state for a total of 90 days – not consecutive days – in a one-year (365-day) period, you must purchase personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability insurance to cover your vehicle(s).
Financial Responsibility – Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law requires vehicle owners to have minimum coverage in order to cover damage to other people or vehicles in situations such as motor vehicle crashes or citations for DUI. In the state, these minimums are:
- $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP)
- $10,000 for property damage liability (PDL)
Note that PIP is also called Florida No-Fault Insurance. It covers you, regardless of fault, up to your policy limits. Florida auto insurance laws require owners of vehicles with at least four wheels to maintain PIP/PDL insurance coverage continuously throughout the licensing/registration period.
Penalties for Failure to Maintain Insurance
In the event that you fail to maintain the required vehicle insurance, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized by the state to suspend your driving privilege, including vehicle license plate and registration, up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever comes first.
In addition, there is a reinstatement fee of $150 (up to $500, for subsequent violations) which must be paid – and proof of current Florida auto insurance must be provided.
Keep in mind that Florida auto insurance laws require auto insurance for every vehicle that’s registered in the state – whether or not the vehicle is used. That means, if you are out of the state for periods of time and your vehicle is stored, as long as it’s still registered in the state, current insurance must be maintained. You can surrender the vehicle’s license plate and registration at any Florida driver license or tax collector office prior to canceling your insurance policy. On your return to the state, you can register your vehicle, at which time you will be required to provide proof of Florida insurance.
If you are moving out of state, keep your Florida auto insurance intact until your vehicle is registered in your destination state and complies with that state’s auto insurance laws.
If you are moving to Florida from another state, you can ask your insurance agent to transfer your current insurance to Florida when you register a vehicle in Florida. Most insurance companies have Florida agents that are licensed to issue auto insurance policies in Florida.
Want more information on Florida auto insurance laws? See the website of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
For more tips on car insurance, visit our section on car insurance where you can get additional tips and insurance quotes.