Drivers in the State of Illinois need to be aware of the Illinois car seat laws if they transport children in their motor vehicles.
The Illinois State Police web site has a great deal of information covering the laws applicable in the state for safety restraints, as well as for the Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act.
What the Law Requires
Under the Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act, all children under the age of eight must be transported using a properly secured, appropriate child restraint system, which includes booster seats.
The law further stipulates that any person transporting a child eight years of age or older, but under the age of 16, is responsible to making sure that child is properly secured in the vehicle with a fastened seat belt before it gets underway.
Note that if the child under age eight being transported weighs more than 40 pounds, and the vehicle being used only has lap belts in the back seat, the child may be transported in the back seat wearing a lap belt only. But if a combination lap and shoulder belt is available, the under eight-years-old child weighing more than 40 pounds must be in a booster seat.
Fines for Violations of the Illinois Car Seat Laws
Violations of the Illinois car seat laws are punishable, upon conviction, of a fine of not more than $50 for the first offense. This is considered a petty violation, and the fine can be waived upon proof presented in court of an approved child passenger restraint device or system.
Subsequent violations of the Illinois car seat laws are punishable by a fine of not more than $100.
Where to Find More Information on Child Safety
For more information on child safety, which car seats to use, where to find car seat inspection locations, and more, visit the Child Safety section of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) web site. There you can also find information on NHTSA’s car seat ratings, and register your car seat to receive notification of any defects and safety recalls.