2017 Lexus LC 500h

A full five years before the 2022 deadline for standard automatic emergency braking on new cars set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), Toyota says nearly all its Toyota and Lexus models will have it – by the end of 2017.

Today what typically happens is that automated braking is part of high-technology safety packages called, respectively, “Toyota Safety Sense” and Lexus Safety System +.” The Japanese automaker says that 25 of 30 models will have automatic emergency braking (AEB) as standard equipment by the end of next year.

Toyota Mirai

The few that won’t have AEB as standard by 2017’s end include the Toyota 4Runner, Mirai and 86, Scion iA, and the Lexus GX. The Mirai and Scion iA, says Toyota, already currently provide pre-collision that includes AEB as standard.

Toyota Safety Sense

Toyota Safety Sense

There are two levels of Toyota Safety Sense: Toyota Safety Sense C and Toyota Safety Sense P. Both include a pre-collision system that sounds an alarm if it detects an imminent collision, and can automatically apply the brakes if the driver fails to act in time.

Toyota Pre-Collision System

In addition, Toyota Safety Sense C includes lane departure alert to let drivers know with audio and visual alarms that they’ve drifted from their lane, and automatic high-beam headlights.

In Toyota Safety Sense P, the pre-collision system is similar, but also includes pedestrian detection. The system also includes dynamic radar cruise control, which many consumers are familiar with by the term adaptive cruise control.

Lexus Safety System +

In the Lexus Safety System +, there’s a pre-collision system with pedestrian detection, lane departure alert, dynamic radar cruise control, and automatic high beam headlights.


Search used cars for sale and find the best deals near you at iSeeCars.com.
To get a FREE iSeeCars VIN Report for a car, click here.